India's Most Trusted Fantasy Sports Platform

Top 5 Leading wicket-takers for Chennai in the history of the Indian T20 League 

Chennai’s history in Indian T20 League is remarkable and they are the most consistent side with winning three titles. MS Dhoni-led this side for all seasons, excluding two seasons in 2016 and 2017 when the franchise were banned. 

Chennai missed the playoffs only once in 2020 and they were the first team that defended their title in Indian T20 League. In the last 13 years, Chennai produced some exciting bowlers and gave us some young Indian talents who later cracked the national call-up. 

In this segment, we pick the top five leading wicket-takers for Chennai in Indian T20 League:

Dwayne Bravo 

Dwyane Bravo is the hot property of the Indian T20 League and last year, he becomes the first bowler to complete 500 wickets in the T20 format. He is the second fast bowler after Malinga who has 150 plus wickets in Indian T20 League. 

He has played two seasons for Gujarat when Chennai were banned. Bravo has picked up 153 wickets at an average of 24.82 and for Chennai, he grabbed 110 wickets. Bravo won two titles with the franchise and he also won the purple cap for Chennai once. He has the record of most wickets in a single season with 32 wickets in 2013. He has seen some fitness issues in the last couple of years but Bravo is still the key figure of Chennai. 

Ravi Ashwin 

The legendary Indian spinner Ashwin was an important part of the franchise and he won two titles for Chennai in 2010 and 2011. Out of seven seasons, Ashwin picked up 90 wickets at an average of 24.22 and his economy was excellent with 6.45. He played a vital role for Chennai to retain the trophy in 2011 by picking 20 wickets from 16 matches. In his debut season (2009), he made a huge impact by picking 13 wickets and his economy was 6.10. His impressive performance earned him an international debut for India. 

Ravindra Jadeja 

Jadeja has been skillful with the bowl and Dhoni used him as the main spinner in his initial years. Jadeja can become a 100 wickets holder for Chennai in 2021. He has 87 wickets to his name at an average of 26.81. He has the record of best spell for Chennai in the Indian T20 League with five wickets haul for 16. He also has two 4-wicket hauls for the franchise. His best season came in 2014 when he picked up 19 wickets and Chennai made into the finals. 

Albie Morkel 

Morkel had the charge of Chennai’s bowling attack in the initial years and he did a wonderful job. South African pacer has 76 wickets at an average of 27.02. In the inaugural season, he grabbed 17 wickets and Chennai reached the finals. He picked 15 wickets in the 2011 season to take Chennai to second title triumph. 

Mohit Sharma 

Mohit Sharma is the only Indian pacer in this category and he was the regular player for Chennai since his debut. His fine performance earned him an international debut and he represented India in the 2015 WC. He has 58 wickets to his name at an average of 22.17. He was the leading wicket-taker for Chennai in the 2014 season with 23 wickets at an average of 19.65. In his debut season (2013) he scalped 20 wickets and helped Chennai to enter into the fourth successive Indian T20 League finals.

Indian T20 League is ready to serve the best cricket in 2021. We’re providing a match-to-match update with match predictions and match reports. Use your cricketing skills and play fantasy cricket and win cash daily. Download MyTeam11 fantasy app and start winning today.

Go Back


Blog Search

Blog Archive


There are currently no blog comments.